Young Scientist Award

Young Scientist Award Session
Room Room 113 (Building "Forum")
Date / Time 2015-07-23 17:00   --    19:00
Conveners / Session Chairs
  • Prof. PARK, Chung Hae (Ecole Naitonale Superieure des Mines de Douai (France)) / email

    Profile: PARK, Chung Hae is a full professor at Department of Polymers and Composites Technology & Mechanical Engineering, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Douai (France) and the leader of “Composites and Hybrid Structures” group working on polymer composites manufacturing processes, structural mechanics and non-destructive evaluation. Before joining Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Douai, he used be an assistant and associate professor at University of Le Havre (France) and a senior research engineer at LG Chem (Korea). He obtained his BSc and MSc in mechanical engineering at Seoul National University (Korea). Especially, he obtained dual PhD degrees at Seoul National University and at Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Saint-Etienne (France), which was the first case at Seoul National University. He also obtained diploma of habilitation (Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches) in mechanics at University of Le Havre.

Session Synopsis At the EKC 2015, “Young Scientist Award” is newly created to recognize an excellent young researcher in Europe. The applicants are “master or PhD students” or “post-doctorate researchers” who have obtained their PhD degree after 24 July 2013. The applicants should be under the age of 40 (who are born after 24 July 1975). Permanent job holders cannot apply for this award. The applicants should submit an abstract using the abstract template (downloadable from the EKC 2015 website, at the session “Young Scientist Award” ( The applicants should also send the EKC program director (Professor Chung Hae PARK, a letter of recommendation and a CV (resume) where the date of birth and the date of final academic degree acquisition are clearly indicated. Each abstract will be evaluated by a jury nominated by the scientific advisory board and the group heads. After the abstract reviewing process, selected finalists shall be invited to make a speech (in English) at the session “Young Scientist Award.” The abstracts which are not selected as finalists will be presented at other scientific sessions according to the topic. The excellence of the candidate will be evaluated in terms of the technical merit of research and the quality of presentation. The best young scientist shall be awarded the prize at the banquet on 24 July 2015.
  • Mr. PARK, Jong-yeon (Max Planck Institute for Meteorology) [ 17:00 - 19:00 ]
    Title: Marine phytoplankton: Amplifier of global warming in the Arctic
  • Mr. YUM, Kevin Koosup (Norwegian University of Science and Technology) [ 17:00 - 19:00 ]
    Title: Marine Vessel and Power Plant Simulator and Libraries
  • Ms. LEE, Heyne (University of Oxford) [ 17:00 - 19:00 ]
    Title: Interrogating the role of LRRK2 in human iPSC-derived macrophages
  • Ms. KANG, Hijee (École normale supérieure) [ 17:00 - 19:00 ]
    Title: Perceptual Learning and Memory of Temporal Information
  • Mr. CHOI, Minjoo (Norwegian University of Science and Technology) [ 17:00 - 19:00 ]
    Title: Simulation Based Ice-capacity Determination In Ice-going Vessel Design